jump to navigation

Top 15 Tracks I Listened to in 2007 (According to Last.fm) January 20, 2008

Posted by reidmix in Best of 2007, Carpark, Free MP3, Indie, Labels, Lists, Music, PawTracks, States Rights, SubPop, Warp.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

As I stated earlier about my iPod conundrum, Last.fm has statistics more closely approximate my listening habits this year. With the introduction of rolling charts that I was hoping for last year, I thought I’d also list my Last.fm top 15 tracks in my 2007 end of year round-up.

With my “Best Of” lists I aim for diversity listing each band once, highest track count wins. For Last.fm, these include releases in 2007 and earlier. Also, since it’s easier to get free, legal music these days, I will try to link to the song when I can.

Can you spot the pattern?

01. Bro’s by Panda Bear
The first song I heard off of “Person Pitch” was Good Girl / Carrots, but Bro’s is the album’s masterpiece, clocking in over 12 minutes long. That’s alot of Panda Bear! [myspace] Bonus: First song off of “Person Pitch,” Comfy in Nautica [mp3]

02. My Life’s Alright Without You by No Age
This song reminds me of one of my favorite HNIA albums “King of Sweet” and thus is one of my favorite songs off their debut collection of singles. [mp3]

03. Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa by Vampire Weekend
Yes, again. I really do love this song. [mp3]

04. Little Mistakes by Lucky Dragons
I’m surprised that this song is the top Lucky Dragon’s songs I listen to — a short instrumental from the epic “A Sewing Circle” album (47 songs). [mp3]

05. Dumb Luck by Dntel
This song sets the album’s tone. It’s a soft introductory number that speaks of ethos and regret. It’s the only song on the album of the same name that is not a collaboration and is all Jimmy Tamborello. [mp3]

06. Carry Around by Annuals
I enjoy the freneticism of this song and especially the opening lyrics “I got magic in my head / magic up my nose / magic coming out my fingers / magic crying out my eyes / I’ve got magic everywhere I fucking look.” [video]

07. Belarus by Low
Sometimes those cryptic songs with the power of repetitious lyrics hold the strongest hold when played over tight electronic loops and dubs. Is this song about a landlocked Russian republic? [live mp3]

08. I Am John by Loney, Dear
These song’s lyrics respond to my gay side, the want of a love of a boy. Swedish Emil Svanängen may not have a gay side, but I do 🙂 [mp3 reposted] Bonus: Another super addictive song, The City The Airport [CSS Remix] [mp3]

09. Prozac by Ollie Byrd
I really love Ollie Byrd’s album, so many good songs that get under your skin in a post-punk no-wave kinda way. Pixiesesque. [mp3]

10. This Sentence Will Ruin / Save Your Life by Born Ruffians
If I could factor in the amount of times I played this in my car, it would probably rank #1. I look forward to their debut, let’s hope it was cheaper than their EP. [mp3] Bonus, best Grizzly Bear Knife cover, ever. [mp3]

11. Hold On, C’mon by We All Have Hooks for Hands
I can thank Indiefeed for this jewel — there’s some Arcade Fire magic lurking in there. I pay it forward: [mp3]

12. Shunpoudoh by radicalfashion
There are two songs from this album, “Odori” that pop my lid on an electronic-The Books kinda way. You have to go to their site to hear it: [myspace] Bonus: Here’s a sample of the other, Thousand (feat Carl Stone) [mp3 sample]

13. Photocopier by Fujiya & Miyagi
Me and my thousand indie-blogger friends would like to introduce you to Fujiya & Miyagi, a anglo-trio from , Brighton, England. You have to go to their site to hear this Photocopier. [myspace] Update: I found it. Bonus: another good krautrock inspired song from “Transparent Things,” Cassettesingle [mp3]

14. A Great by Curium
Two songs in one, from this e.e.cummings lovefest. The first part of the song is “A Great” sounds like it is delivered straight from The Matrix. [indiefeed podcast] Also: first track off of “Nowever”, Seeker of Truth. [mp3]

15. There Are Too Many Birds by Arthur & Yu
I am smitten with Arthur & Yu. It reminds me of my love affair I had with OP8 featuring Lisa Germano in the late 90s. Thanks Dntel, folk at it’s best. [mp3 reposted] Bonus: the other single, Come to View (Song for Neil Young) on their debut album. [mp3]

If you notice, I really have to thank Subpop for a great year — if a song isn’t on Subpop, it will be (I’m talkin to you No Age). Next, my top bands listened to according to Last.fm.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

